There is an old maritime tradition that a Captain must stay at the helm and sacrifice himself should his vessel fall foul to the perils of the Ocean. This is something that I have recently come across in University life, although in a slightly different way. The idea that no matter what the cost to yourself you should stay steadfast and pay the price alone is a noble, but ultimately futile gesture. When the work load is heavy, and the time is getting ever shorter, the Captain should attempt to share the load. Delegate the work, put a plan in place and allow the team to work together to achieve the common goal. People will not think less of the leader for needing to utilise the skills of his comrades.

During an earlier task I myself found that I wanted to just do everything, as I was in charge. I felt that I was letting the team down if I didn’t manage the workload so that everyone else had as little as was possible to do. I also though that it was weak of me to need to ask for help from my team mates. But this thinking is flawed. In the long run it was probably to the detriment of the end product to not allow greater input from those around me.

The great thing about being in a team, is the chance to learn from those around you, lean on them when you’re struggling and share the joy of a completed task well done. Leaders are always needed, but without the help of those around them, the task will always become harder than it needs to be.

Karl Jazwinski

